The Freelancer Community Site by Team [RIP] » Board index » The FLC Public Forums » General




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 6 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: Att: Robocop
 Post Posted: Tue Jan 17, 2012 4:19 am 
Offline
Member
Member
User avatar

Joined: Mon May 26, 2008 2:44 am
Posts: 227
Location: Planet Primus
Saw this post of yours on TSP,

Is there a syntax that you could use in a mod that would seek the players perfoptions.ini file and modify it?

All widescreen mods I see will do everything but that. The user must still manually seek out and edit their perfoptions.ini file.

I just wondered if there was a scripting option that would address that problem


Can you clarify that please? Where is this elusive ini file you talk about? Don't even know where to look for it. Secondly, if you use adoxa's widescreen plugin, that's it, it works, i've never edited any other file to make widescreen useable. You just select the screen size from the options in game, job done.

_________________
Image


Top 
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Att: Robocop
 Post Posted: Tue Jan 17, 2012 1:01 pm 
Offline
Site Admin
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: Sun Jan 06, 2008 4:53 pm
Posts: 1041
It is just above the Accts folder, which is in different paths depending upon the operating system.

_________________
http://FreelancerCommunity.net
http://UnderVerse.us


Top 
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Att: Robocop
 Post Posted: Tue Jan 17, 2012 4:12 pm 
Offline
Member
Member
User avatar

Joined: Mon May 26, 2008 2:44 am
Posts: 227
Location: Planet Primus
Ahh ok, never paid attention to it before, just found mine. I still fail to see why this needs touching though. Surely the display setting is updated everytime you change resolution?

_________________
Image


Top 
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Att: Robocop
 Post Posted: Thu Jan 19, 2012 4:03 pm 
Offline
Member
Member

Joined: Wed Sep 03, 2008 4:52 pm
Posts: 70
Well, what I found is that FL doesn't automatically set your game to the desktop resolution but the resolution does appear in your options list (F1/Options)
Switching to my desktop resolution however did not adjust the menus, windows, or fonts so many visuals ended up off-screen. When I manually adjusted perfoptions.ini (My Documents\My Games\Freelancer, cameras.ini, freelancer.ini, fonts.ini, and rich_fonts.ini you could see that the widescreen was now enabled and working properly.

The cameras.ini file would show the following:

; JFLP will recognise 0 and calculate an appropriate value for the resolution.
; The commented values are for 4:3, 16:10 and 16:9, respectively.

[WinCamera]
fovx = 0
;fovx = 54.432
;fovx = 63.361
;fovx = 68.878

[CockpitCamera]
fovx = 0
;fovx = 70
;fovx = 80.077
;fovx = 86.067
znear = 2

etc....

When I removed the semi-colon from the appropriate ratio setting all of a sudden the menus appeared properly, and the changes to the fonts files adjusted the size of the lettering. jflp.dll is entered into the libraries section of dacom.ini.


Top 
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Att: Robocop
 Post Posted: Fri Jan 20, 2012 4:18 am 
Offline
Member
Member
User avatar

Joined: Mon May 26, 2008 2:44 am
Posts: 227
Location: Planet Primus
The way i've got it working is to add jflp to the dacom ini as you've done, go into game, select resolution then log out . When you log back in everything is at the required resolution, menus, text etc. Also i noticed the perfoptions file is automatically updated. Got mine running at 1920x1050 without any other modification

_________________
Image


Top 
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Att: Robocop
 Post Posted: Fri Jan 20, 2012 7:15 am 
Offline
Member
Member

Joined: Wed Sep 03, 2008 4:52 pm
Posts: 70
I'll look into that... Perhaps I missed a step.


Top 
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
 
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 6 posts ] 

The Freelancer Community Site by Team [RIP] » Board index » The FLC Public Forums » General


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests

 
 

 
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron