The Freelancer Community Site by Team [RIP] » Board index » The FLC Public Forums » General




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 11 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: Win7, SSD, and FLServer + FLAC
 Post Posted: Wed Jun 22, 2016 7:55 pm 
Offline
Member
Member

Joined: Wed Sep 03, 2008 4:52 pm
Posts: 70
Do you all have any experience with this combination?
I'm looking at upgrading the server with a new box and SSD but need Win7 to take advantage of the SSD.
Before I delve too deeply into this I wondered if you had any input on this combination. Does FLAC work with Win7?
I figured I'd install the 32-bit version of Win7 just to ensure compatibility.

R


Top 
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Win7, SSD, and FLServer + FLAC
 Post Posted: Wed Jun 22, 2016 9:54 pm 
Offline
Site Admin
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: Sun Jan 06, 2008 4:53 pm
Posts: 1029
FLAC works for sure with XP and Server2003. There were some tests that showed it did not behave with 64 bit, but I have not tried win7 yet.

_________________
http://FreelancerCommunity.net
http://UnderVerse.us


Top 
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Win7, SSD, and FLServer + FLAC
 Post Posted: Thu Jun 23, 2016 4:17 pm 
Offline
Site Admin
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: Sun Jan 06, 2008 3:44 pm
Posts: 724
i operate our underverse backup test server on my win 7 pro machine .... i run it in a virtual machine on my win 7 pc using win server 2003 as the OS

it took tweaking to get the VM working but once permissions were right ... IE: automatic bridging and shared root access it worked for us .. i was never able to get our backup server working where people could connect to it on my win 7 pro machine..



i used vmware free version .. it requires 64 bit i believe and you need win pro if your going to host your own network connections

https://my.vmware.com/en/web/vmware/fre ... layer/12_0

_________________
Image
Hey You! Check out The UnderVerse by Team RIP
The RIP Team Forums


Top 
 Profile E-mail  
 
 Post subject: Re: Win7, SSD, and FLServer + FLAC
 Post Posted: Thu Jun 23, 2016 4:31 pm 
Offline
Site Admin
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: Sun Jan 06, 2008 3:44 pm
Posts: 724
here you can see some of the settings i used for the VM .i only gave it 512mb of memory and we never saw any issues while using that server


Attachments:
pc.jpg
pc.jpg [ 98.03 KiB | Viewed 2060 times ]

_________________
Image
Hey You! Check out The UnderVerse by Team RIP
The RIP Team Forums
Top 
 Profile E-mail  
 
 Post subject: Re: Win7, SSD, and FLServer + FLAC
 Post Posted: Sat Jun 25, 2016 10:20 pm 
Offline
Member
Member

Joined: Wed Sep 03, 2008 4:52 pm
Posts: 70
I see FLAC is still a downloaded file hosted by Maurice. At some point, due to limited traffic I expect that download will go away. Is there anyway to get a standalone installer as a backup?


Top 
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Win7, SSD, and FLServer + FLAC
 Post Posted: Sat Jun 25, 2016 10:29 pm 
Offline
Member
Member

Joined: Wed Sep 03, 2008 4:52 pm
Posts: 70
Trying to run the server on a new Win7 32-bit box. When attempting to hit the register button in FLAC to find the GUID code for the keygen I get an unhandled exception error. Any input on that one? Right clicking on the shortcut does not give me a 'run as administrator' option.

So, basically that means that even though I can get my GUID from the old server and generate an install code for the new machine which btw is different from the one on the old box, I can't enter it into the registration dialogue in FLAC because that feature won't open.


Top 
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Win7, SSD, and FLServer + FLAC
 Post Posted: Sun Jun 26, 2016 6:56 am 
Offline
Site Admin
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: Sun Jan 06, 2008 4:53 pm
Posts: 1029
You must have dotnet 3.5 as a dependency.

If you are just loading vanilla, it probably needs the 1.1 patch.

Full info here: http://efs.proboards.com/thread/808/fla ... ad-install

_________________
http://FreelancerCommunity.net
http://UnderVerse.us


Top 
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Win7, SSD, and FLServer + FLAC
 Post Posted: Sun Jun 26, 2016 8:45 am 
Offline
Member
Member

Joined: Wed Sep 03, 2008 4:52 pm
Posts: 70
The 1.1 patch was installed as administrator. FLAC does fire up and run the server. Adding the registration code into the registry manually causes it to run registered to me but, when FLAC opens it generates that error message. When I close the error message it automatically takes me to the configuration page. I don't see anything in the configuration page that's out of place so I close that and the error message pops back up again in a never ending cycle.

I suppose we can continue the conversation on the EU board unless someone else wants to chime in.


Top 
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Win7, SSD, and FLServer + FLAC
 Post Posted: Sun Jun 26, 2016 10:19 am 
Offline
Site Admin
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: Sun Jan 06, 2008 3:44 pm
Posts: 724
Robocop wrote:
I see FLAC is still a downloaded file hosted by Maurice. At some point, due to limited traffic I expect that download will go away. Is there anyway to get a standalone installer as a backup?



Eagle awarded Control over the FLAC source files and site to Dwn and i .... even if pro boards kill the site at some point we have everything backed up

FLAC will always be avail ... Dwn and i will see to that

_________________
Image
Hey You! Check out The UnderVerse by Team RIP
The RIP Team Forums


Top 
 Profile E-mail  
 
 Post subject: Re: Win7, SSD, and FLServer + FLAC
 Post Posted: Sun Jun 26, 2016 1:11 pm 
Offline
Member
Member

Joined: Wed Sep 03, 2008 4:52 pm
Posts: 70
Has there ever been any further consideration of further development? I have no coding experience anymore but I'd be happy to help in whatever limited capacity I have.
One feature I'd like to see is a way to back up configuration settings for easier setup and migration.

Some of the old flhook and flshell features would be cool too.


Top 
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Win7, SSD, and FLServer + FLAC
 Post Posted: Sun Jun 26, 2016 4:10 pm 
Offline
Site Admin
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: Sun Jan 06, 2008 3:44 pm
Posts: 724
We have discussed and fixed one or two reg issues when we took it over .... the problem is finding folks to code for such an old game like FL

the few coders flac had that contributed on a regular basis have all gone afk

_________________
Image
Hey You! Check out The UnderVerse by Team RIP
The RIP Team Forums


Top 
 Profile E-mail  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
 
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 11 posts ] 

The Freelancer Community Site by Team [RIP] » Board index » The FLC Public Forums » General


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

 
 

 
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron