The Freelancer Community Site by Team [RIP] » Board index » The FLC Public Forums » NEW PLAYER - Help & Support




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 6 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: Private LAN server question
 Post Posted: Thu Dec 29, 2011 8:14 pm 
Offline
Member
Member

Joined: Thu Dec 29, 2011 7:30 pm
Posts: 4
Hello Forum,
I've been reading everything I can google and trying to figure out server listing issue for client.
Here is my issue:
I am running a server on my machine, and then we connect to it... and me too on my machine.
1. I have made a connect to my server when at my friends place (v1.0 and v1.1)
- private LAN, no Internet, basic dlink router/switch
2. I can't see my server in LAN list when at my home
- private LAN, w/ Internet, basic linksys/tomato router - either wifi or cabled
3. after server listing workaround applied, can play at online Internet servers
- from my home private LAN, basic linksys/tomato router - either wifi or cabled
What I've done regarding item 2 above:
1. complete uninstall / reinstall to version 1.0
2. update to official version 1.1
3. add in update to version 1.4
4. apply server listing workaround
Tried to find my Local LAN server at each stage and No List Visible.
Note:
I'm using XP media ctr w/ IP4 only - no IP6 installed
Have disabled all local firewall - normally use ZoneAlarm w/ XP fw disabled
Am using Avast! antivirus and set to Silent /Game mode w/ FLserver.exe and FreeLancer.exe as exceptions.
...
What have I missed?
Regards,
James


Top 
 Profile E-mail  
 
 Post subject: Re: Private LAN server question
 Post Posted: Thu Dec 29, 2011 10:32 pm 
Offline
Site Admin
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: Sun Jan 06, 2008 4:53 pm
Posts: 1025
Sounds like you are almost there. The last thing you should check is that you have forwarded the appropriate ports (2300-2304 udp).

To host a server it does indeed need that 1.1 patch, the others aren't necessary and may have 'undone' your 1.1 patch by overwriting it. I suggest (after checking the ports) reinstalling freelancer and only installing 1.1

_________________
http://FreelancerCommunity.net
http://UnderVerse.us


Top 
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Private LAN server question
 Post Posted: Thu Dec 29, 2011 11:32 pm 
Offline
Member
Member

Joined: Thu Dec 29, 2011 7:30 pm
Posts: 4
Thank you DwnUndr for your speedy reply.
What I'm attempting to solve is...
When I was at v1.0 or v1.1 only, I could still not see my server in my client list when at my home.
Note, this was server and client on the Same Machine.
Firewall was off, AV had both executables into Exception listing.
And I also tried doing the DirectConnect via:
Freelancer.exe -s192.168.20.110:2302
and the direct connect did not show the server in the client LAN listing.
We are simply trying to have a private LAN game.
Regards,
James


Top 
 Profile E-mail  
 
 Post subject: Re: Private LAN server question
 Post Posted: Fri Dec 30, 2011 1:46 am 
Offline
Site Admin
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: Sun Jan 06, 2008 4:53 pm
Posts: 1025
Joining by clicking the LAN button (rather than Internet) is correct.

When you launched the server via FLServer, you did click the boxes that said 'Allow other players to join my server'?

_________________
http://FreelancerCommunity.net
http://UnderVerse.us


Top 
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Private LAN server question
 Post Posted: Fri Dec 30, 2011 2:26 am 
Offline
Member
Member

Joined: Thu Dec 29, 2011 7:30 pm
Posts: 4
DwnUndr wrote:
Joining by clicking the LAN button (rather than Internet) is correct.

When you launched the server via FLServer, you did click the boxes that said 'Allow other players to join my server'?


Yes (also tryed [Refresh] button) and Yes.

As I said, success at my friends place but none at mine.
Same setup at both... except for our routers and he had no Internet.


Top 
 Profile E-mail  
 
 Post subject: Re: Private LAN server question
 Post Posted: Wed Jan 04, 2012 2:21 am 
Offline
Member
Member
User avatar

Joined: Sun Jan 06, 2008 6:32 pm
Posts: 24
What's your Operating system? Are you using Ioncross or similar for server launcher, or the default server launcher app?

Fus

_________________
Interest in the Power Rangers? Come visit www.geocities.com/ls_graphics
Proud Friend of Team [NuB] www.teamnub.com
Proud Member of Team [RIP] www.ripteam.com
Image


Top 
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
 
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 6 posts ] 

The Freelancer Community Site by Team [RIP] » Board index » The FLC Public Forums » NEW PLAYER - Help & Support


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

 
 

 
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to: