The Freelancer Community Site by Team [RIP] » Board index » The FLC Public Forums » Freelancer Tutorials




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 3 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: Dock with one base, undock at another
 Post Posted: Thu Feb 23, 2017 4:55 pm 
Offline
Site Admin
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: Sun Jan 06, 2008 4:53 pm
Posts: 1025
This has been an age old question that never had a written response (that worked).

In the upcoming v12.3 of the UnderVerse I had this need. I spent too much time experimenting to find the solution.
Changing the dock_with line in the system.ini simply led to a player crash.
Trying the alter the destination in the base files had no result.
I was resigned to changing it to a wormhole but finally found a clue on Lancers Reactor. I did not capture the posters name, sorry. Here is the post:

-----------------------------------
WTS-World Version 1.3 in game screenshots and feedback
so here goes.

If you dock with the Perth Roid Miner near Perth Staion in the Edinburgh System. It is just black inside with the launch to space button only. You click on this to launch and you are launched back into space but outside the Roid Miner 5 in the Tau 31 System near Planet Harris.
-----------------------------------
This mod obviously had made all of the Miners dockable. There was no answer to his observation, he was ignored. I traced the files:

[Object]
nickname = Br06_Perth_Roid_Miner
ids_name = 60225
pos = 20026, -148, 9739
rotate = 0, -70, 0
archetype = Roid_Miner2
reputation = co_ti_grp
base = co_ti_water_miner
dock_with = co_ti_water_miner
difficulty_level = 6
loadout = mining_co_01
pilot = pilot_solar_easiest
behavior = NOTHING

(This is Sigma 17)

in universe.ini:

[Base]
nickname = co_ti_water_miner
system = Bw10
strid_name = 60225
file = Universe\Systems\miners\co_ti_water_miner.ini

(This is Tau-31 !!!)

In universe/systems/miners:

co_ti_water_miner.ini

[BaseInfo]
nickname = co_ti_water_miner
start_room = Deck

[Room]
nickname = Deck
file = Universe\Systems\Li05\Bases\Rooms\Li05_01_Deck.ini

--------------------------------------
The deck is the dummy deck from Alaska, used many times by DA for non-dockable locations.
I have NOT tested if it actually works across systems without crashing as I was only interested in in-system docking.

But it works!

I can dock with one base and undock at another flawlessly, no crashing in multiplayer.
For the return trip I made some virtual bases (since the above only works in one direction).
You could even use this for an Easter Egg shortcut for those players that find it.

_________________
http://FreelancerCommunity.net
http://UnderVerse.us


Top 
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Dock with one base, undock at another
 Post Posted: Thu Feb 23, 2017 5:05 pm 
Offline
Site Admin
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: Sun Jan 06, 2008 4:53 pm
Posts: 1025
Oh, be sure to place to destination base first in your system.ini file, followed by the docked-at base or it won't work. Freelancer reads top to bottom.

_________________
http://FreelancerCommunity.net
http://UnderVerse.us


Top 
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Dock with one base, undock at another
 Post Posted: Thu Feb 23, 2017 9:41 pm 
Offline
Site Admin
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: Sun Jan 06, 2008 3:44 pm
Posts: 723
:mrgreen:

_________________
Image
Hey You! Check out The UnderVerse by Team RIP
The RIP Team Forums


Top 
 Profile E-mail  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
 
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 3 posts ] 

The Freelancer Community Site by Team [RIP] » Board index » The FLC Public Forums » Freelancer Tutorials


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

 
 

 
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to: