The Freelancer Community Site by Team [RIP] » Board index » The FLC Public Forums » Freelancer Tutorials




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 19 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next
Author Message
 Post subject: Fixes for some voice errors, part A
 Post Posted: Sat Nov 08, 2008 10:29 pm 
Offline
Site Admin
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: Sun Jan 06, 2008 4:53 pm
Posts: 1039
by DwnUndr 8 Nov 2008

This shows a few of my discoveries fixing the last of the voice error messages. This would concern anyone who has a total conversion mod or a mod that adds any new bases. More discoveries later.

Many people thought these were from missing voice messages in space, but the following is actually from the dealers inside the bases. This first example is a bartender on my new planet called Origin. Yes, none of the other dealers 'talk', but they have voices applied to them inside mbases.ini regardless. Also, some of them have 'spiels' assigned to them in the room files. Sadly, none of this was implimented by DA in time for the release. Errors still pop up from some of them anyway. Back to the first example:


PART 1:

Clear your flspit, jump into a new base and talk to the bartender, leave and view flspit:

ERROR: Voice profile 0xb0d3c107 (b0d3c107) does not support message gcs_ml_W02aF_OR01_01

this one is from the Origin bartender when you talk to him. There is a pause before he says 'A Liberty Planet'. He is trying to say 'Welcome to Manhatten' (0xBF8A4F4B), but doesn't have the sounds inserted yet to play 'Welcome to the Origin'.

The message is not supported because it doesn't have an entry (and corresponding wav file) inside of voices_base_male.ini and rvp140.utf (how it references this... later)

----------
err, a bit of a sidetrack, I hate to delete things, heh...
If you look inside the playerfile it will show you the last bartender and base where you exited the game . This and other info tells the bartender to say 'welcome back trent' or 'you really screwed up that last mission'.

[mPlayer]
vnpc = 3184624139, 2313248262, 1, 0 ; OR01_01_Base, 0x89e15e06

Tearing the above apart tells you that the virtual npc (bartender) is
OR0101_fix_bartender ... 2313248262 , hex crc of 0x89e15e06 (using crctool, it matches above)
on OR01_01_base ... 3184624139 (using crctool, it matches above)

from mbases:
[GF_NPC]
nickname = OR0101_fix_bartender
body = pi_pirate2_body
head = rh_captain_head
lefthand = benchmark_male_hand_left
righthand = benchmark_male_hand_right
individual_name = 245184
affiliation = li_p_grp
voice = rvp140
----------

Ok, back on track...so now we know why the error exists, the bartender doesn't know where he is.

If you look inside voices_base_male.ini, here are the first few lines:

[Voice]
nickname = RVP140

[Sound]
msg = $BGCS_Base_Name
attenuation = -4

[Sound]
msg = $BGCS_Base_Run_By
attenuation = -4

[Sound]
msg = $BGCS_My_Faction_ML
attenuation = -4

[Sound]
msg = $BGCS_Faction_Rebuff_ML

Ah, this is it! The 'msg = $BGCS_Base_Run_By' is a generic hook. This ties in below...

---------------------------------------------------------------
PART 2:

Why did the bartender say 'A Liberty planet'? Can't you simply make a new wav? Well, that's not the full story. I take you back to a list I made in Jan 2007. I had wondered what all the 'run by' entries in universe.ini meant and researched them:

Example:
[Base]
nickname = Li01_01_Base
system = Li01
strid_name = 196766
file = Universe\Systems\Li01\Bases\Li01_01_Base.ini
BGCS_base_run_by = W02bF35

The last line is what I refer to. Here is my research from back then (by simple observation of where each base was and the rep assigned to it in the system files):

---------------------------------------
W02bF01 Ageira Technologies
W02bF02 ALG Waste Disposal
W02bF03 (no universe.ini reference, but should be Blood Dragons)
W02bF04 Border World Exports
W02bF05 Bounty Hunters Guild
W02bF06 BMM
W02bF07 Bretonia Armed Forces
W02bF08 Bretonia Armed Forces
W02bF09 Bretonia Police
W02bF10 Bretonia Police
W02bF11 Bundschuh
W02bF12 Corsairs
W02bF13 Cryer Pharmaceuticals
W02bF14 Daumann Heavy Construction
W02bF15 Deep Space Engineering
W02bF16 Farmers Alliance
W02bF17 Gaians
W02bF18 Gas Miners Guild
W02bF19 Gateway Shipping
W02bF20 Golden Chrysanthemums
W02bF21 Hogosha
W02bF22 Independant Miners Guild
W02bF23 Interspace Commerce
W02bF24 Junkers
W02bF25 Kishiro Technologies
W02bF26 Kruger Minerals
W02bF27 Kusari Naval Forces
W02bF28 Kusari Naval Forces
W02bF29 Kusari State Police
W02bF30 Kusari State Police
W02bF31 Lane Hackers
W02bF32 Liberty Navy
W02bF33 Liberty Navy
W02bF34 Liberty Police Inc.
W02bF35 Liberty Police Inc.
W02bF36 Liberty Rogues
W02bF37 LWB
W02bF38 Mollys
W02bF39 Orbital Spa and Cruise
W02bF40 Outcasts
W02bF41 Planetform Inc.
W02bF42 Red Hessians
W02bF43 Republican Shipping
W02bF44 Rheinland Military
W02bF45 Rheinland Military
W02bF46 Rheinland Police
W02bF47 Rheinland Police
W02bF48 Samura Industries
W02bF49 Unioners
W02bF50 Universal Shipping
W02bF51 Xenos
W02bF52 Zoners
W02bF53 Liberty Navy (Prison Station Mitchell in Alaska). The other xx references to Battleship Osiris do not exist in multiplayer.

No bases owned by Liberty Security Forces, Bretonia Navy or Synth Foods Inc.
--------------------------------------------------------

As you can see, BGCS_base_run_by = W02bF35 means it is run by Liberty Police Inc.

To test this, I changed mine (also W02bF35) to W02bF27 and went and talked to the bartender again. Now he told me it was a Kusari base. This part of the mystery is solved.

Now, where do these get assigned? Here are the next few lines in voices_base_male.ini:

[Sound]
msg = gcs_ml_W02aF_Iw02_03
attenuation = -4

[Sound]
msg = gcs_ml_W02aF_Li01_15
attenuation = -4

[Sound]
msg = gcs_ml_W02aF_Rh02_07
attenuation = -4

[Sound]
msg = gcs_ml_W02aF_St01_02
attenuation = -4

So, this explains part of it (why the error didn't say 'does not support message gcs_ml_W02bF35_OR01_01', but instead shows 'does not support message gcs_ml_W02aF_OR01_01').

The format is simply different inside the ini and is missing an OR01_01 entry. There are about 165 of these entries, one for each vanilla base and they all use the W02aF style.

So, how to get the universe.ini W02bF35 to say your new name?

In the same file! Here is an entry:

[Sound]
msg = GCS_ML_W02bF35
attenuation = -4

Play that (0x8FAC5587) and it says "A Liberty planet'. Now make your own and assign this to universe.ini for each base.

I hope this wasn't too disjointed, I am always doing 12 things at once and this was just one of them, heh.

DwnUndr
http://FreelancerCommunity.net

_________________
http://FreelancerCommunity.net
http://UnderVerse.us


Top 
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
 Post Posted: Sat Nov 08, 2008 11:46 pm 
Offline
Site Admin
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: Sun Jan 06, 2008 4:53 pm
Posts: 1039
I was curious and went ahead and wrote down what they all say:

W02bF01 Ageira Technologies 'Run by Ageira Technologies'
W02bF02 ALG Waste Disposal 'Run by ALG Waste Disposal'
W02bF03 Blood Dragons 'Run by the Blood Dragons'
W02bF04 Border World Exports 'Run by Border World Exports'
W02bF05 Bounty Hunters Guild 'Run by the Bounty Hunters Guild'
W02bF06 BMM 'Run by Bretonia Mining and Metal'
W02bF07 Bretonia Armed Forces 'A Bretonia Armed Forces base'
W02bF08 Bretonia Armed Forces 'A Bretonia Armed Forces Battleship'
W02bF09 Bretonia Police 'A Bretonia Police base'
W02bF10 Bretonia Police 'A Bretonia planet'
W02bF11 Bundschuh 'Run by the Bundschuh'
W02bF12 Corsairs 'Run by the Corsairs'
W02bF13 Cryer Pharmaceuticals 'Run by Cryer Pharmaceuticals'
W02bF14 Daumann Heavy Construction 'Run by Daumann Construction'
W02bF15 Deep Space Engineering 'Run by Deep Space Engineering'
W02bF16 Farmers Alliance 'Run by the Farmers Alliance'
W02bF17 Gaians 'Run by the Gaians'
W02bF18 Gas Miners Guild 'Run by the Gas Miners Guild'
W02bF19 Gateway Shipping 'Run by Gateway Shipping'
W02bF20 Golden Chrysanthemums 'Run by the Golden Chrysanthemums'
W02bF21 Hogosha 'A Hogosha base'
W02bF22 Independant Miners Guild 'Run by the Independant Mining Guild'
W02bF23 Interspace Commerce 'Run by Interspace Commerce'
W02bF24 Junkers 'Run by the Junkers'
W02bF25 Kishiro Technologies 'Run by Kishiro Technologies'
W02bF26 Kruger Minerals 'Run by Kruger Minerals'
W02bF27 Kusari Naval Forces 'A Kusari Naval base'
W02bF28 Kusari Naval Forces 'A Kusari Naval Battleship'
W02bF29 Kusari State Police 'A Kusari Police base'
W02bF30 Kusari State Police 'A Kusari planet'
W02bF31 Lane Hackers 'A Lane Hackers base'
W02bF32 Liberty Navy 'A Liberty Navy base'
W02bF33 Liberty Navy 'A Liberty Navy Battleship'
W02bF34 Liberty Police Inc. 'A Liberty Police base'
W02bF35 Liberty Police Inc. 'A Liberty planet'
W02bF36 Liberty Rogues 'A Liberty Rogues base'
W02bF37 LWB 'Run by LWB'
W02bF38 Mollys 'Run by the Mollys'
W02bF39 Orbital Spa and Cruise 'Run by Orbital Spa and Cruise'
W02bF40 Outcasts 'Run by the Outcasts'
W02bF41 Planetform Inc. 'Run by Planetform'
W02bF42 Red Hessians 'A Red Hessians base'
W02bF43 Republican Shipping 'Run by Republican Shipping'
W02bF44 Rheinland Military 'A Rheinland Military base'
W02bF45 Rheinland Military 'A Rheinland Military Battleship'
W02bF46 Rheinland Police 'A Rheinland Police base'
W02bF47 Rheinland Police 'A Rheinland planet'
W02bF48 Samura Industries 'Run by Samura Industries'
W02bF49 Unioners 'A Unioners base'
W02bF50 Universal Shipping 'Run by Universal Shipping'
W02bF51 Xenos 'Run by the Xenos'
W02bF52 Zoners 'A Zoners base'
W02bF53 'The secret Order Battleship'

extra not used!
W02bF54 'The secret Order base'

_________________
http://FreelancerCommunity.net
http://UnderVerse.us


Top 
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
 Post Posted: Mon Nov 10, 2008 6:31 pm 
Offline
Member
Member
User avatar

Joined: Wed Feb 27, 2008 5:50 pm
Posts: 26
Excellent post!

_________________
Image


Top 
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
 Post Posted: Wed Nov 12, 2008 8:28 am 
Offline
Member
Member
User avatar

Joined: Mon Jan 07, 2008 5:56 pm
Posts: 253
Very useful i always wondered what they all said.

_________________
Image


Top 
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
 Post Posted: Wed Nov 12, 2008 10:53 pm 
Offline
Site Admin
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: Sun Jan 06, 2008 4:53 pm
Posts: 1039
Small correction. The spiels the non-talking dealers give are actually in text, not spoken.

For instance, the Commodity Trader would put up a screen between your inventory and his inventory saying:

Greetings
Origin
Commodity Trader

If you want to buy a commodity, select it from my list...etc

_________________
http://FreelancerCommunity.net
http://UnderVerse.us


Last edited by DwnUndr on Tue Apr 28, 2009 5:21 am, edited 1 time in total.

Top 
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
 Post Posted: Tue Apr 28, 2009 2:57 am 
Offline
Member
Member
User avatar

Joined: Sat Apr 25, 2009 7:43 am
Posts: 51
I still can't understand how to fix it.

I was edit and change my universe.ini file, and assign the BGCS_base_run_by = W02bF35 to each base (include my new base), but I still get the voice error msg.

May you can tell me where I need to edit too ?

_________________
Image


Top 
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
 Post Posted: Tue Apr 28, 2009 5:35 am 
Offline
Site Admin
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: Sun Jan 06, 2008 4:53 pm
Posts: 1039
I started to write this but it is 6:30 am and I better do this tomorrow when I am fresh. I don't need to make a mistake and make more work for you.

_________________
http://FreelancerCommunity.net
http://UnderVerse.us


Top 
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
 Post Posted: Wed Apr 29, 2009 2:58 am 
Offline
Member
Member
User avatar

Joined: Sat Apr 25, 2009 7:43 am
Posts: 51
DwnUndr wrote:
I started to write this but it is 6:30 am and I better do this tomorrow when I am fresh. I don't need to make a mistake and make more work for you.


Ok, thanks for your time and help. :D

_________________
Image


Top 
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
 Post Posted: Wed Apr 29, 2009 4:20 am 
Offline
Site Admin
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: Sun Jan 06, 2008 4:53 pm
Posts: 1039
JONG wrote:
I still can't understand how to fix it.

I was edit and change my universe.ini file, and assign the BGCS_base_run_by = W02bF35 to each base (include my new base), but I still get the voice error msg.

May you can tell me where I need to edit too ?


Ok, if you did this you would no longer get the W02bF35 error. This is what says 'A Liberty planet'.

Did you mean to say you still get something like:

ERROR: Voice profile 0xb0d3c107 (b0d3c107) does not support message gcs_ml_W02aF_OR01_01 ?

_________________
http://FreelancerCommunity.net
http://UnderVerse.us


Top 
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
 Post Posted: Wed Apr 29, 2009 5:48 am 
Offline
Member
Member

Joined: Sat Apr 11, 2009 12:51 am
Posts: 68
Jong,

If you use CRC Tool to generate a new database of the nicknames in your mod each time you get a difficult problem, then you can search it to find matches for a lot of voice and other hashcode errors.

If you made a typing mistake in a nickname in your mod it should then be able to find it anyway and tell you which file it is in.

For example, let's make a deliberate mistake, say Zonez_Br01_to_Br03
CRC Tool gives me the hashcode 0xAD2032C6

Generate a new database first and then search...

CRC Tool finds the following...

Zonez_Br01_to_Br03
(C:\Freelancer\Data\UNIVERSE\SYSTEMS\BR01\Br01.ini)


So it finds my typing mistake. After fixing it make a new database.

This will help if you make a mistake in a nickname, other places are much harder to find.

_________________
RRJDS GUILD
www.rrjds.com


Top 
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
 Post Posted: Wed Apr 29, 2009 6:27 am 
Offline
Member
Member
User avatar

Joined: Sat Apr 25, 2009 7:43 am
Posts: 51
DwnUndr wrote:
JONG wrote:
I still can't understand how to fix it.

I was edit and change my universe.ini file, and assign the BGCS_base_run_by = W02bF35 to each base (include my new base), but I still get the voice error msg.

May you can tell me where I need to edit too ?


Ok, if you did this you would no longer get the W02bF35 error. This is what says 'A Liberty planet'.

Did you mean to say you still get something like:

ERROR: Voice profile 0xb0d3c107 (b0d3c107) does not support message gcs_ml_W02aF_OR01_01 ?


Yes, I still get something error like what you say.

I need someway to fix my new factions voice issue, may you can give me some advice ?

_________________
Image


Last edited by JONG on Wed Apr 29, 2009 6:34 am, edited 1 time in total.

Top 
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
 Post Posted: Wed Apr 29, 2009 6:33 am 
Offline
Member
Member
User avatar

Joined: Sat Apr 25, 2009 7:43 am
Posts: 51
StarTrader wrote:
Jong,

If you use CRC Tool to generate a new database of the nicknames in your mod each time you get a difficult problem, then you can search it to find matches for a lot of voice and other hashcode errors.

If you made a typing mistake in a nickname in your mod it should then be able to find it anyway and tell you which file it is in.

For example, let's make a deliberate mistake, say Zonez_Br01_to_Br03
CRC Tool gives me the hashcode 0xAD2032C6

Generate a new database first and then search...

CRC Tool finds the following...

Zonez_Br01_to_Br03
(C:\Freelancer\Data\UNIVERSE\SYSTEMS\BR01\Br01.ini)


So it finds my typing mistake. After fixing it make a new database.

This will help if you make a mistake in a nickname, other places are much harder to find.


Hi StarTrader, thanks for your advice.

My main problems is:

Does here or someway has tutorials to make a new factions voice issue ?

Or I need to make new factions voice wav files for every new factions ?

_________________
Image


Top 
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
 Post Posted: Wed Apr 29, 2009 12:31 pm 
Offline
Member
Member

Joined: Sat Apr 11, 2009 12:51 am
Posts: 68
You only need to make new recordings if you want the voices to say your new system names or new faction names or new base names.

Yes there are several tutorials, mine is here (sorry for the self-promotion!)...
http://forums.seriouszone.com/showthread.php?t=55735
and here...
http://forums.seriouszone.com/showthread.php?t=55152

For myself I recorded only "Alliance" and "Raiders" to use as faction names for all my new factions, and "New Systems" to use for all new systems, and "Border Patrol" for use by the atc voices for all my new bases. That still took me 3 or 4 days to find suitable clips in existing messages and then trim and join them together to get these phrases for each voice.

You can also make your factions have no voices, so they will not respond to anyone calling them...
http://forums.seriouszone.com/showthread.php?t=57809

While we are discussing recordings, you can leave the recordings for short messages as .wav files, but if you are recording new music you will get .wav files of about 20 megabytes each! So you can reduce the size of these to about 2-3 megabytes by compressing them to .mp3 but in a .wav "envelope" using Sound Recorder from Windows.

See this topic for that...

http://forums.seriouszone.com/showthread.php?t=55225

_________________
RRJDS GUILD
www.rrjds.com


Top 
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
 Post Posted: Wed Apr 29, 2009 3:40 pm 
Offline
Site Admin
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: Sun Jan 06, 2008 4:53 pm
Posts: 1039
Yes, to make the errors go away you must make new entries in some form.

Here is an example to follow:

Planet Manhatten is (from voices_base_male.ini):

[Sound]
msg = GCS_ML_W02aF_Li01_01
attenuation = -4

taking this part and plugging it into DBhash:

GCS_ML_W02aF_Li01_01

=

0xBF8A4F4B

If you look into rvp101.utf you will find the matching file:

0xBF8A4F4B_0FDE9148.wav

Play that and it says "Welcome to Manhatten"

Your new base needs to have entries too, even if you have it say a vanilla name. If you don't care what it says but just want the error to go away, copy the above file and rename it to what is appropriate for your base. Delete the second section of stuff first, so 0xBF8A4F4B_0FDE9148.wav becomes 0xBF8A4F4B.wav. Next find the hash code for your specific base and substitute it in there. Now add the 'new' wav into the utf file AND make entries for it in the voices_base_male.ini. Done!

_________________
http://FreelancerCommunity.net
http://UnderVerse.us


Top 
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
 Post Posted: Thu Apr 30, 2009 1:11 pm 
Offline
Member
Member
User avatar

Joined: Sat Apr 25, 2009 7:43 am
Posts: 51
Thanks all of your big help, now I know how to fix it.

But as what you say, that's has many thing need to change, even I don't care what it says.

I think I better do it keep after my mod finish. :(

_________________
Image


Top 
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
 
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 19 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next

The Freelancer Community Site by Team [RIP] » Board index » The FLC Public Forums » Freelancer Tutorials


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

 
 

 
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron